Located in Edmunds County with a population just under 1000, Ipswich is a Class 2 Municipality. The governing body consists of elected officials from the community led by a mayor and six council members. The council members are elected among three wards assigning two city council members per ward. The Ipswich City Council meets every first and third Monday of the month at the city office at 7:00 p.m.


 How do I register to vote?

Voters must be registered 15 days prior to any election.  Click on the attached link for the Voter Registration Form.  Mail it to Edmunds County Auditor, PO Box 97, Ipswich, SD 57451 or drop it off at the Auditor's office in the Courthouse.

 How do I vote absentee?

Contact the Edmunds County Auditor at 426-6762.

 Where do I vote?

City elections will be held at either the Edmunds County 4-H Building, located at 515 7th Street (along Highway 12) or the Ipswich Community Fitness Center, located at 21 Main Street, unless otherwise announced.  Call the City Office at 426-6961 for more information.  

 What ward do I live in?


 Who should I contact with further questions?

For questions on City elections, contact the Finance Officer at 426-6961.  For questions on county elections or voter registration, contact the Edmunds County Auditor at 426-6762.
Official Website of Ipswich, South Dakota